My Boat Trip Essentials! βš“πŸ›³

Hi everyone! How are you today? ❀ I hope you’re well and safe if the snow has come back for you! 😌 Mines melted again! πŸŽ‰ (I feel like having a party but then it’ll probably start snowing again knowing my luck πŸ˜‚). It’s so strange how the 20th of March was marked as the official first day of Spring and that’s when the sun decided to come out! Whilst being more stuck inside than usual I had a severe case of wanderlust and so I wrote this when the snow was still cascading down from the sky and thought that now would be a good time to share it with you! (Seeing as I can actually picture a non snow day in my head πŸ˜‚).

Planning for my holiday last year I could not shake the memory of the boat trip the year before over to England which consisted of me scrunching my eyes closed willing the seasickness tablets to take hold, but they never did! πŸ˜“πŸ˜‚ So last year I was determined for things to be different and even when the usual flare-up threatened to take hold I wasn’t going to let seasickness be added on top of that! I made sure that the second time around the journey would not be as dreadful with the help of some essentials which I hope can be of some help to anyone else planning on going on a boat! 😊 Here they are:

Raw Ginger/Ale/Biscuits

Ginger food products are AMAZING for seasickness!! Even if you’re not mad about the taste if/when you get seasick you won’t really care πŸ˜‚ They are a lifesaver! (Excuse the pun 😬 lifesaver…boat….anywho! I feel queesy already πŸ˜‚). My sister, my aunt, little cousin and I all munched our way through a pack of ginger biscuits or two back in 2016 on the way back over to ireland and I could honestly feel the difference so definetly had them with me in 2017.

We also sipped ginger ale which I got a bit annoyed of by the time we got back home but was grateful for all the same πŸ˜‚ my aunt had brought a pack of raw ginger with us and I tried a small bit but my cousin and I both hated it 😫 (To which my cousin who was 5 at the time said “us young ones don’t like it very much do we?” She ended all of her sentences with a question when she was younger and my heart just about broke πŸ€—πŸ˜‚).

Mp3 player

Halfway through the journey I stuffed my headphones in and tried to doze off. This was when I knew I’d had enough because there was a really nosy bunch of people sitting in a see-through closed off area next to us in the lounge and I just closed my eyes not even caring if they were watching and woke up and they were gone (my first thought was RESULT! πŸ˜‚ and then I thought: did I say something in my sleep that made them go away?! πŸ™ˆ And then I remembered I was on a big vessel traveling at a dangerously alarming speed through the ocean and kind of forgot about everything else in fear of my life πŸ˜‚).

I recommend making a playlist of your favourite songs to listen to! It doesn’t matter if they aren’t that soothing as it’s only to take your mind of your surroundings. I would go for the songs that were around 5 minutes long so the trip would go by faster πŸ˜‚

Sleep!

Sleep is a must (even though it’s not a material item it is still an essential! πŸ˜‚). I would never have thought I would be able to close my eyes around complete strangers but no one cares and it’s an oddly nice feeling as everyone’s trying to do their own thing to get through it. You could even fall asleep with your music on or just keep the headphones in/on!

Tablet/iPad

I brought my tablet with me to keep both my little cousin and I occupied the first time round and we got very far in Candy crush πŸ˜‚ plus when the battery drained I could put it on charge as I remembered to bring the charger! πŸ˜‚ Staring at the screen for so long didn’t help my flare-ups let alone the seasickness but it took my mind off the journey for awhile and even then I could just hand it to someone else and watch them use it when I couldn’t anymore.

Book/magazine’s

I will always think that the best thing to do when you feel sick on the boat is sleep but if you can’t do that then reading can be a welcome distraction. I got some recipe magazines the first time round and I surprisingly wasn’t disgusted at the site of it all whilst the boat bobbed along πŸ˜‚ Last year I brought along a Point Horror book and got lost in it to the extent of losing track of half the journey! πŸ˜‚

Walk around once you start to feel easier.

After the dizzy spell eased off I went for a walk on the boat with my sister and it was a welcome distraction to just have a look around the shop and then get something in the dining area (it was weird but having food in my stomach made me feel less sick: especially free little brownie treats I raved about for months afterwards! πŸ˜‚).

Seasickness tablets/bracelets

If they agree with you take a seasickness tablet the amount of hours specified before you board the boat and even wear one of those bracelets that lay gently over your pulse: Both are a great foundation for all the other essentials I have listed to be built on.

A comfortable outfit

Put on something that isn’t tight and that you can more or less doze off in as well as feel comfortable walking around in.

Common sense!

On the way over to England I couldn’t handle looking out the windows at the sea πŸ˜‚ but on the way back home it was somewhat soothing. I guess nerves played into the fact that I was travelling away from home the first time round and so it felt worse but on the way back here to ireland I knew where I was going and was just as excited to get home and see my family as I had been to leave them some time before! πŸ˜‚. Know what you can handle and if you’re not sure just don’t look out! πŸ˜‚ Or even only look when the boat is docking because then if you feel unwell you won’t be on the boat for much longer!

Thank you for reading, I hope these tips can be of some help! πŸ˜‰ What are your boat trip essentials? I need all the help I can get for the trip that might be going ahead later this year! Have a lovely day! ❀

24 Comments

Leave a comment