My Blogging Worry

Hi everyone! How are you? Today I thought I would share my blogging worry with you! I try to keep my blog as positive as I can as it is a place to take my mind off my pain, but when a worry relates to the place I try to escape into (my blog), it is difficult to try to find the positives in it at all πŸ˜‚ I have come to the conclusion that the only positive of a worry is that it can be relatable. A relatable worry makes us feel less alone and more human πŸ˜‚ and so I thought this post could be a place for everyone to share their blogging worries! Big or small it doesn’t matter as it is getting to you all the same. Here is my blogging worry: 

I worry that the people I haven’t told about my blog will be annoyed with me for not telling them when they do find out (at the moment 4 people know about it). They will think that I don’t care about them or trust them enough when in reality I do but I have insecurities about my blog. These insecurities don’t seem to care that the people I haven’t told yet are nice people. These insecurities only become visible when I envision my blog being viewed by others and they result in laughter. I need to stop trying to see things through other people’s eyes. I look at my blog and I’m proud of it until I think of what others might think and then the faults show themselves. I can’t get it out of my head that people will react this way when I know they will be happy for me if only I could rack up the courage to tell them. 

Even writing this I am thinking “one day so and so will see this post about my blogging worry and think I’m daft”. I’ve been cooped up with my chronic pain for so long that this one thing (blogging) is helping me find a way to be me again and less shy, yet I worry that this me is not what the people I want to tell are used to. The me that is trying to speak up more about her health or is trying to make people laugh or smile and not just sitting quietly in the corner. The me that I have always been but lost a little for a while.

I also fear that when people find out about my blog and I know they are reading it (maybe they won’t and I’m going overboard, they might not even bloody care πŸ˜‚) I won’t feel as comfortable writing on here like this as I am not this open and talkative in reality. 

I don’t think I would be able to say “oh I have a blog” and leave it at that. I would say “oh I have a blog, it’s just talking about stuff…nothing much” I will automatically belittle it as it feels silly to try and describe how truly happy and passionate I am about blogging and it feels like that’s what some people would want to hear: that it’s just a hobby (when it feels much more). If I say I’m passionate about it they might say “if she’s so passionate about it then why didn’t she tell me before??”. I know I need to stop caring about the workings of other peoples brains πŸ˜‚ but it’s easier said than done sometimes, right? 

…that’s my blogging worry πŸ™ˆ people finding out. It looks like my mind just exploded all over this post in word form πŸ˜¬πŸ˜‚ but only because I feel like I’ve gotten it all out. Of course there are little worries that tug at my attention now and then but I feel like this one will be harder to overcome. 

Thank you for reading! Do you have a blogging worry too? What is it? Let it out in the comments and let’s see if we can help each other! Hope you have a lovely day!

99 Comments

  1. My biggest blog worry is that it’ll never be popular to be significant enough. I try to get the word out there, but I’m not a good advertiser. – I was told that having a blog will help me create the writing platform that I need before I publish my first book, but I’m worried it won’t be enough by the time I send query letters out. Perhaps my blog isn’t good enough. Perhaps I just gotta keep waiting. Not sure.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for sharing your worry! I originally started my blog so as to get my writing out there to later on become an author too. I didn’t do it as that as the main reason though as your goals branch out on your blogging journey. In my opinion popularity doesn’t matter anywhere, especially on a blog as it is a fantasy world that involves others when in the beginning you should be blogging for you. Viewing your blog through other people’s eyes will never bring you happyness as we cannot see what others see. Your blog IS good enough! And before you worry about popularity you should give it a chance with you alone to see it in a different light. I think advertising doesn’t do as much as getting in with the community on here as through advertising people just see the blog but in the community people see the person behind the blog and will want to read what you write. It is definitely a waiting game as no good thing comes easy and as long as you keep hard at it you will get to where you want to be πŸ™‚ have a lovely day πŸ’—

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so strange because I have literally the exact same problem. I have kept my blog a secret from family and friends for four years (two of my closest friends know about it, but that’s all). Even though it’s such a huge part of my life, these people don’t know that my blog even exists. I feel exactly the same as you; I’m worried that I will be judged and I’ll be somewhat reticent in my posts if I reveal it to them. It doesn’t help that I suffer from anxiety, ha!
    I have been debating it lately myself, and I think I probably will end up revealing it. It’s probably much more of a big deal to us than it is to them. Don’t sweat it! It mig actually prove very beneficial πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you can relate! Yes! It feels like it’s a huge part of my life that I’ll end up playing down to spare them if I ever do tell them. You’re right, we can over think it whereas they might just say “oh really?” Thank you! I think I will tell me friend through text instead of to her face πŸ˜‚ I really appreciate your comment! Have a lovely day πŸ˜„πŸ’—

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

