Blogging Tips That Really Work! πŸ™Œ

Hi everyone! How are you today? I have been asked a few times what my blogging secrets are and my answer is always the same: I’m not quite sure how I got here myself! πŸ˜‚. I am far from being an experienced blogger (it still feels weird referring to myself as a blogger πŸ˜‚) and have been blogging for 6 months so not even a year. But when I was most recently asked what my secret is, I thought I should do a post like this so that it is evident there are no secrets between us πŸ˜¬πŸ˜‚ I hope my blogging tips can be of any help!

Followers Vs. Readers and replying

In keeping with the no secrets, I can honestly say to you: yes I have 700+ followers but does this mean that 700+ people read every post I publish? No! πŸ˜‚ I would be lying if I told you otherwise and the truth is I’m not sure how it got to be that number and ignoring that, I am all the more grateful to those of you who do read my posts. Readers are far more important as they are the ones who have decided to stick with you and not just pretend they are doing so, they are the people that keep you going on your blogging journey (not your follower count) whilst you hope in some way your writing is doing the same for them.

Reply to every comment you get if a reader has taken the time to be kind and write one as they didn’t have to do that. Even if your replys are endless streams of thank you’s because you are so overwhelmed by their words and want to express your gratitude, acknowledge it! A couple of times I have commented on posts that I enjoyed and the blogger hasn’t gotten back which has been mildly upsetting as it feels like you built up the courage to comment and it wasn’t appreciated. You’re more or less left feeling stupid. There’s no major reason this should happen as if anything it pulls me further away from their blogs. If you’re not going to reply you should turn of the option that allows others to comment instead of giving them false hope. I love hearing back from a blogger as it feels like you are building a friendship and making them see just how wonderful they are in what they have written. Always remember to treat others how you would like to be treated yourself!

Depending on what kind of blog you have you may not want to refer to your readers as friends but I see mine that way as they are genuinely lovely people and without even meeting me in person they know me allot more than half the people who have met me πŸ˜‚

Keep tabs on your spam folder

Back when I started blogging I did not know there was a spam folder on here as I couldn’t find it. I automatically assumed everything that would be in this missing spam folder was y’know spam! πŸ˜‚ I could not have been more wrong! It got to the point where I would get notifications for people commenting on my blog and when I went to read them they had disappeared! 😡 For a split second I would think people had changed their minds about commenting on my blog and deleted their comments πŸ™ˆπŸ˜” and then I thought, this thing must have a spam folder somewhere so I went and found it, in turn discovering comments that had gone unanswered due to accusations of being spam! Since then I have made sure I check the folder so no comment goes unanswered! 

Blogging Community

You know that amazing feeling you get when someone comments on/likes a post on your blog? You can give someone else that feeling too! There are so many incredible bloggers out there that you can’t help but want to comment after reading something amazing even if all you say is “I loved this (+why)” you honestly just want them to know they’ve made your day in some way. Sometimes when I’m too nervous to comment, don’t know what to say or at that point in time I’m unwell, I will leave a like. Other times I’ll like the post to go back to comment later after I’ve thought of what I’ll say πŸ˜‚.

It amazes me how many bloggers on here I can now name off by heart and it’s all because of how kind they are and how comfortable their blogs have made me feel! It feels like so much of a community to recognize other bloggers or readers from their writing style which holds their personality and look forward to seeing how they are and what they are doing next. Everyone’s so nice and genuinely supports each other. You get the random few who you can tell are in it for themselves and are missing out on so much, but they are few and far between as everyone wants to be a part of something!

Post to your blog consistently

When I started my blog I did at least 5 posts with no real correlation of publish times. Some had 1 day in between, others had 2/3 and then I automatically started posting every second day. I did not even realize at first how fast I became accustomed to this but it hasn’t swayed so I’m not going to question it anytime soon! πŸ˜‚ I know there will come a time when I will be at a loss on what I should write and this worries me most when I am unwell but so far I have managed to stick to my schedule for the full 6 months! πŸ™ŒπŸ˜‚. A schedule is important so that readers know when to expect you next and you will work hard and feel motivated to maintain that time for them. Make sure your readers are aware of the time gap between each of your posts whether it be a few hours/days/weeks.

Schedule/plan posts

If you think you’re not going to be able to get a post up for when you usually plan to, scheduled posts are always helpful. If you are unsure whether you want to do this as you fear there’s a chance your post won’t go up automatically, you can always have it typed out ready for you to hit the publish button yourself. A few posts typed out and finished in your drafts already might be of help to you on these days! 

Write down ideas

To write down ideas I use the notebook I showed you in my notebook collection Favourites post and it’s nearly full! 😬 (I did make it last 6 months so I don’t blame it! πŸ˜‚) Not only is it helpful to write down ideas for future posts but it also brings back a nice memory looking back on the idea blossoming into a fully fledged post! 😊 At the back of my notebook I like to keep track of all my posts by writing them down numbered, This is post number 81! Notebooks are also great for taking down tags/awards you are nominated for/want to do so that no possible post goes amis!

Take part in tags/awards

These are a fun way of letting your readers know more about you (and hopefully making them laugh in the process πŸ˜‚) and learning new things about your favourite bloggers too! Also, your readers might be introduced to other bloggers that you tag in these posts so the cycle keeps going with always something to read! I admit that I tend to half save these posts for when I’m sick as they cheer me up and it’s a free flowing process in answering the questions. 

Don’t post for the sake of it

Post if you are at least 90% happy with what you’ve written πŸ˜‚ because it shows in the effort you’ve put into it. Even if the post is a difficult subject you can be happy with how you’ve gotten your feelings and point across before you hit publish. If I’m completely honest with you, I am not happy looking back on the last post I wrote as I know I was drowsy from the day before when I did it πŸ™ but at the same time I was happy to write it as I had planned it out so I’m in two minds here πŸ˜‚.

If something can be celebrated, do it!

When you reach a point on your blog that in your eyes is an accomplishment (whatever it may be) celebrate it! You will be happy to look back on these milestones later and remember how you felt in that moment when in times of self doubt.

Be yourself!

The only thing that makes your blog different is you! Let your personality shine through and don’t be afraid to do what you love. It is in this way you will relate to bloggers/readers and form friendships that prove to you this is what you should be doing judging by the smile you can’t hide at the thought of what you’ve gotten yourself into and how far you have come! 

Don’t give away too much

This one’s obvious πŸ˜‚ well at least I hope so. Big facts like your direct location within a country, some don’t even want to share their name or age and its brilliant that they don’t feel as if they have to. Many base their entire blogs around their life and are smart in that they don’t give away too much and still maintain an air of mystery (or maybe it’s just me wanting to know more! πŸ™„πŸ˜‚). Stay safe! (Difficult not to say kids πŸ˜‚) you never know what might happen in your life regarding your blog that will make you rethink what you put out there for others to see. Despite my wanting to spread awareness about Undiagnosed Illness’s on my blog I can tell I am going about it rather slowly as one word about it always feels like too much (kind of like you will bore people but mostly you want to keep some things private). There are allot of things that I hope to speak out about on my blog in the future, one of which is about my mum being ill when I was younger and her ongoing recovery that I think could help people in similar situations but I want to write about it when it feels right. Never put something out there if you are unsure as to whether it’s the right time or if you should put it out there at all.

Link back to previous posts

When you think it may be in your readers best interest in order to understand a current post, link back to a previous one (but only if it relates).

Use the right tags

Don’t just add tags because they are trending at the moment, your post will be of no real interest to anyone. Submit tags that are relevant to what you have written so people who have searched are at least in with a chance of reading what they want to read. 

Make your website easy to navigate.

More than once have I been confused navigating my way through someones website. It shouldn’t have to feel like a scavenger hunt to find a post πŸ˜‚ and see those things that say “text widget” at the bottom that can be filled in or deleted πŸ˜ΆπŸ˜‚. My blog is in no way perfect aand there are allot of things I am planning on doing to make it easier on the eye πŸ˜‚ but for the time being I hope it is easy to use.

Photos and titles 

Aesthetically pleasing pictures on posts attract me to stop scrolling through the rest and think of pressing on it but the title is what gets me! I am always intrigued to read if I like the title (if I have been following a blogger for a while though I will read their post regardless of picture or title as we’ve been through that stage and i feel like I know them more and just want to see what they’ve been up to really πŸ˜‚). Keeping in mind that click bait is alive and kicking I will go through a bout where I feel betrayed after reading something completely unrelated to the title before I realize the bloggers serious smarts…they succeeded in tricking me πŸ˜‚ (but seriously the title of your post should always in some way correspond to your post content or else people will know what to expect from you! πŸ˜‚).

Do not take inspiration lightly…grab it and stuff it in your notebook! πŸ˜‚

Even the smallest thought can branch out and become something magical that you did not see coming. I find pictures, art, nature (fresh air works wonders πŸ˜‚) and music inspiring! 

Social media

This is a great way to introduce new people to your blog and also have a separate route of contact aside from your blogs actual contact page. I use Twitter for my blog and share links to my new posts! It took me awhile to figure out how to embed it to the bottom of my website as the plugin could not be found πŸ˜‚ but I finally did it and have been seeing from my stats views coming via this! 

Have an idea of the reason you started/are blogging.

A reason as to why you set out on this journey is ultimately your purpose and will motivate you amongst other things to keep going! I started my blog thinking my sole reason was to get my writing out in the open as I have always wanted to be an author but I soon realized that this like most things I do is a way of escaping from my illness as much as I can and take my mind off it. This purpose has given me the drive to try my best to slowly spread awareness about Undiagnosed Illness’s (which I wrote about here My Undiagnosed illness) and hopefully my blog can be an escape for others as much as it is for me and bring a smile or two!

Be proud of yourself! 

Last but not least, be proud that you put yourself out there (even if you did not intend for your blog to be read by others). You started the chain of events that has bought you here today! And that’s pretty amazing πŸ˜πŸ˜‚. I find that blogging is something that is always progressing which is what I have always wanted as for so long I felt like my life was in a standstill because of my health which I cannot control but will definitely not let control me! 

This is all coming from a girl who was originally unsure if she even had any tips to write about πŸ˜‚

Thank you for reading! πŸ˜‰πŸ’— Don’t loose sight of how much fun and happiness the journey brings towards your dreams!

 

91 Comments

  1. What a useful post, you have a really engaging style of writing and a lot of useful information here, it’s no surprise you’ve been successful. I really agree with replying to all your comments, and also wasn’t aware of the spam folder myself so will have to check that out… thanks again and keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

