My Favourite Things To Do To Relax! πŸ˜‘..😐..πŸ˜‘

Hi everyone! How are you today? Its raining where I am in Ireland so I thought it would be the perfect day for this post! πŸ˜‚  I was once asked as a part of a tag on my blog what I do to relax and I said watch animated movies. This answer wasn’t very descriptive and I explained how it’s difficult for me to find something I do to call down time that is done through choice and not as a result of feeling unwell. So in this post I am going to retrieve and answer the hell out of that question! πŸ˜‚ As I have now had some time to think about what my favourite relaxation things are and would like to share them with you! 

Have a relaxing bath πŸ’†πŸ›

The perfect bath is the stuff of which dreams are made of πŸ˜―πŸ˜›πŸ˜‚ with so many bubbles you could almost imagine you live on a cloud, a bath bomb that’s failed to deteriorate and sits in a crumbly pile at the bottom (just to remind you that bad stuff happens in dreams too! πŸ˜‚) and the sinking feeling that you may never want to leave (you don’t want to put your body through the struggle of actually getting out of the bath. It’s fine where it is thank you very much! πŸ˜‚).

Read a book/magazine πŸ“š=πŸ‘½β˜ πŸ‘ΉπŸ¦„

The best way to relax in my opinion is to escape entirely! πŸ˜‚ To read so much you forget your alive (yes that’s happened before and I look for that feeling in a good book πŸ˜‚). You know you’ve read a good book when you finish it, go back to the first page and feel like a lifetime has passed since those first words. Almost as if you changed along with the characters. 

Paint your nails πŸ’…

Painting your nails must be a form of detoxing in disguise (or is detox only for inside your body? πŸ€”πŸ˜πŸ˜΄πŸ˜‚) either that or they put something in the varnish to make you feel so at peace with the job at hand (or on the hand, particularly the nails πŸ˜‚) right now I am wearing a soft green colour that almost looks blue. It feels like the ultimate Spring shade! πŸ˜‚ and is from Essence.

Do some colouring πŸ“”πŸ–ŒπŸ–

I love how colouring has become a widespread accepted thing for people of all ages to enjoy. For Christmas my parents bought me a quirky little box full of designed sheets that are for each day of the year and are to be coloured in at any time of day. I am in love with it! πŸ˜‚ I have tried to convert my sister into adult colouring books too and got her Harry Potter colouring ones and she really enjoyed the detail of all the characters in them (she also received a David Bowie colouring book for secret santa from someone at college as it is no secret he has been her idol since she was a kid πŸ˜‚).

Watch a film πŸŽ₯πŸ“Ί

When you’re busy, put some thought into what film you would like to watch in spare time so that you can look forward to watching something that hasn’t  just been thrown in πŸ˜‚ and is planned out. Or even just put on the TV and watch anything that takes your fancy (or something that doesn’t, you may be deeply surprised). I love watching game shows where i can play along and answer the questions alongside the contestants! πŸ€“ Might even get one correct and feel like a smartie πŸ˜‚

Write πŸ’‘βœ
I mentioned in My yesterday=today’s post that I have gotten back into writing a story that I lost the swing of. Now I am highly invested in it and it feels so magical to be back enjoying it again and just letting my unconscious mind tell my hand what to write πŸ˜‚. Pick up the pen and just let it come to you, let your thoughts on how it should be interact with how the story wants to be written. For a fun take on a story, write down the first line then fold the paper and give it to someone else (you know what I’m getting at don’t you? πŸ˜‚) Then have them write down the next line and fold it again, pass it back and forth and then when you’re ready, unfold the paper and read the story aloud! 

Go outside 😎🌀🌞

Depending on where you live a walk might not seem like a relaxing thing to do but it definitely calms you to breathe in fresh air and changes your surroundings. Lay down outside and watch the clouds go by up above (I used to do this and it felt so peaceful, careful standing up though when it’s time to remember your on earth πŸ˜‚). 

Play with your pets (if you have them) πŸ•πŸˆπŸ‡πŸΉπŸ’πŸ€πŸ πŸ•·

Yes I just used this opportunity to display a load of pet emoji’s πŸ˜‚. Pets are there to be loved and cared for so treat them as they deserve and take them for walks or let them out of their cages for a run around, throw their toy that they keep bringing you until it becomes obvious they are little attention seekers πŸ˜‚

Take an afternoon nap πŸ˜ͺ..😴

When I was being homeschooled I was encouraged to take naps in the middle of the day especially when my tutor would be coming in the evening and I started to feel unwell or tired in the morning. I think I only did it 4 times πŸ™„πŸ˜‚ because from an outsiders perspective it seems lazy and I would beat myself up about that as I like to keep busy even when I’m unwell (which is a bad idea πŸ˜‚) there comes a time when you ignore that outsiders perspective and they get bored and crawl back into their cave πŸ˜‚ and you can crawl into yours have a little nap halfway through the day to rejuvinate and wake up feeling charged! 

Play boardgames 🎲

I thought I would put boardgames instead of video games as i don’t want relaxation time to involve looking at a screen πŸ˜‚ and boardgames are so much fun you don’t feel as if you have to be looking at a screen! Win/win πŸ˜‚ My favourite boardgame is monopoly πŸ€‘πŸ˜‚ yes it gets us thinking like horrible people who want all the money in the world and brings out a competitiveness we didn’t know existed and would like not to πŸ˜‚ but it is all these things that keep us playing it as for that small amount of time it is almost like an alternate dimension exists where we own Times Square πŸ˜―πŸ˜‚ check out My top 10 Christmas games post for more games that you might enjoy! (Yes I know it’s not Christmas πŸ™„ I would like to think it is! πŸ˜‚).

Light some scented candles! πŸ˜―πŸ•―

Make sure you don’t do this around photos as it may look like some kind of awkward shrine πŸ™„πŸ˜‚ 

Sit back with a hot drink β˜• or go out and treat yourself to one!

One word: hotchocolate! What? That’s supposed to be two? Okay then, Hot chocolate, but it doesn’t have the same effect πŸ˜’πŸ˜‚. You can feel yourself unwind as soon as you take the first sip, you can’t? maybe I’m just so bloody tense then πŸ˜‚ careful you don’t have too much tea or coffee though as the tannins could effect your bodies absorption of iron…I don’t know where that came from.. πŸ˜‚ I still have home economics on the brain apparently! πŸ˜‚

Get changed for bed, whatever the time of day! 

Don’t get into bed, just get ready. What? You just got in bed? πŸ˜πŸ˜‘  I meant, put your pajamas on! πŸ‘― especially if you’ve just had a bath! That is bliss! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ͺ.

Style your hair πŸ˜—πŸ’‡

I love trying out new styles with my hair, there are just so many different looks to do. My favourite is space buns! πŸ‘ΎπŸ˜‚ If you don’t find this relaxing, wash your hair and massage the shampoo in instead πŸ’† before styling as you usually do!

Listen to music! 🎢🎧

Whatever’s your preference really! Close your eyes and pretend you’re either at a concert or in a music video! πŸ˜‚ Is it just me or do people always need you when you put headphones on? πŸ˜«πŸ˜‚

I’m off to run myself a bath! πŸ˜πŸ˜‚

Thank you for reading! πŸ˜‰πŸ’— What is your favourite thing to do to relax? Have a lovely day! 

29 Comments

Leave a Reply

