Against Stereotypes 🙅..🙊

Hi everyone! How are you today? I wrote this post a couple of weeks ago but was unsure how to introduce it. My blog is a place for happiness (even when I write of my pain) so this post is a funny one, but at the same time before I go into it I would like to say that ignoring the stereotypes I joke about below, there comes a point when stereotypes cross the line and are used to both mentally and physically damage others and that is WRONG! 

There seems to be a stereotype for every living human being. Why can’t the only stereotype be that we are all different..Unique like snowflakes. Instead they create controversy and hurt, whether it is intended or not. In this post I’m not going to write about the stereotypes that hurt people, instead i want to write about a few ones that are somewhat comical in that they don’t apply to me even though society says they should. Off the top of my head I can think of a few stereotypical views that people I have met in my life (but didn’t know me) automatically had of me that were wrong. These views hurt, but not as much as they would of if they had come from someone who knew me. And that is what I think stereotypes are all about, they are a group of set views founded against one person and then another so are used to label a whole lot of people who appear to be the same, even if you don’t know them. It’s all abit silly really isn’t it? In that there is nothing to prove them true (when so many people are involved and the view was initially based on 3) but many people still stand by them as a fact and not pure gossip. Anywho! On with the post! 

All teenagers go through a phase of acting out and hating parents:

I can be ratty (especially at that time of the month 😉🙄😉…Signals on key 👌😂) but I never went through that teenage phase that is stereotypical of teens in hating parents and rebelling and I know I’m not the only one who hasn’t 😂 I’m 18 so I’ve got 1 more year of being a teenager if it is said this age group ends after 19. Maybe it’s because I live in the middle of nowhere. I mean what am I going to do if I rebel? March through the fields? 😂 I’d probably get lost and have to get saved by a parent nonetheless (shock! Horror! 😬). Everyone is different! It depends on your upbringing and your surroundings (nature vs nurture and all that 😂). Not all of us bloody rebel! Although I do feel quite rebellious in going against a few stereotypical views 🤔..Not quite the same is it? 😂

Young people think all elderly people are boring:

I can honestly say that I haven’t personally known many elderly family members in my lifetime 😞. Both of my grandfather’s sadly passed away before I was born so they didn’t know of me and I never met them. My nan on my mum’s side passed away when I was little and my nan on my dad’s side lives over in England (I visit her on holiday and speak to her on the phone 💗). Where I could jump to conclusions because i haven’t had the experience, I raise the point again “everyone is different!”. The first person to say “old people are boring” probably only selected 2 people to grace with his or her presence before concluding that “these two are boring, therefore they all are”. The world isn’t here to entertain you First Person! You don’t know everyone on the planet to make a statement so hurtful and that goes for most stereotypical views. 

All British people love to drink tea:

I only started drinking tea two years ago. I was in a highly awkward situation and was offered a cuppa and felt oddly calm because it was so tasty (unless there was something sinister going on with that cup of tea because it hasn’t tasted that good since 😂😬). Recently I prefer tea without milk or sugar like I mentioned on my post Dawn Dagger Challenge. I admit that I rarely sit back and drink a cup, I usually just dunk biscuits in it and shove it aside when it goes all gloopy 😂. So I would never exactly say I love tea, but I’m glad it exists 😂

Here’s a good one “teens are angry at the world and it shows when they want to prove everything wrong”….Shall we skip that? I have no idea what they are talking about 😇😂

Thank you for reading! 😉💗 Can you think of any stereotypical views (that aren’t hurtful) that you have gone against? 

24 Comments

Leave a Reply

