Open A Toolkit For How Magic And Messed Up Life Is By Gemma Cairney book review! ๐Ÿ˜„

Hi everyone! I hope you are having a lovely day! Even if in reality it’s dreary outside and it seems like the universe is against you having a good day, turn it around (if you can of course ๐Ÿ˜‚) and find a little thing to smile about. Right now it is raining as I sit on my bed and I can hear raindrops softly landing on the roof above me. My mum has always told me to imagine I am in a tent when it rains or there is thunder like she did when she was little as it makes you feel safe in where you are. I’m terrible at conjuring up images in my head, but the feeling of being in a cosy tent with the rain cascading out of the sky gives me goose bumps (of a good kind! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Like the kind you get when Adele sings ๐Ÿ™„…Yeah those ones ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚). Back to the point! something good will come out of today even if it feels impossible. You know what they say (I do not know who they are ๐Ÿ˜‚), the word impossible even says “I’m possible!”

Yesterday I bought “Open a toolkit for how magic and messed up life can be” by Gemma Cairney! Even though I’ve heard it was supposed to come out today ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜‚ This book is a haven of truth in regard to difficult subjects like toxic friendships/abuse/sexuality/family/love/sex/body image/anxiety/politics/internet and contains extremely helpful tips for tricky situations that you may or may not encounter in life and need advice on, all the while maintaining a positive message of love! 

There are also web links throughout the whole book and all at the back that lead you to people to chat to if you feel alone through any of the problems highlighted throughout the book. Gemma (the author) recommends using the book as a guide for if any of the mentioned difficult things occur, but you can’t help but sit back and read through the rest of it (the content you read might very well apply to you in some way) because her writing is so engaging and relatable! 

Before seeing this book in the store yesterday, I knew of Gemma Cairney as a radio presenter and from watching Glastonbury music festival where she makes those of us who are not at the festival feel involved in the whole experience through the TV. Her positive mentality rubs off through her presenting as well as in her book and mirrors her personality as a person who wants to make others feel good about themselves! ๐Ÿ˜„ 

This book is for the “older reader” as it says on the back. So I’d say I’m jumping in (I probably fell in ๐Ÿ˜‚) at 18 years of age. But I think that it is for 16 years and up as there are allot of topics raised that Gemma experienced herself beforehand, and will most probably inspire teens to speak out about what they are going through too. 

Without giving away too much as this is the closest I’ve ever purchased a book to its release date ๐Ÿ˜‚ I strongly believe that this book will resonate with and help so many people (no matter how old you are-but yeah above 16 ๐Ÿ˜‚) in a variety of ways and also help us all to learn how to do what’s right for ourselves both mentally and physically as well as how to treat other people correctly. Always treat others how you wish to be treated yourself! ๐Ÿ‘Š

 Thank you for reading! This review (If it can even be called that ๐Ÿ˜‚) does not do the book enough justice, but I am glad I wrote it, as I sure am happy I bought it! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ’—

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

